Friday Five – Recent Rock ‘n’ Roll News

Did you hear the following news Rock ‘n’ Roll Marathon Series news over the past week?

1.  Last week, Rock ‘n’ Roll released the 2016 RnR Philly Half Marathon medal.  The History nerd in me loves the classic look of the Liberty Bell, and I cannot wait to earn this medal after I cross the finish line on September 18th.

Photo Credit: Rock 'n' Roll Marathon Series

Photo Credit: Rock ‘n’ Roll Marathon Series

2.  On Tuesday, Rock ‘n’ Roll announced that if you run both Philly and Brooklyn this year that you can earn this zip up.  Who wants to run both Philly in September and Brooklyn on October 8th and be rewarded with this hoodie?

Photo Credit: Rock 'n' Roll Marathon Series

Photo Credit: Rock ‘n’ Roll Marathon Series

3.  On Tuesday, Rock ‘n’ Roll also revealed this year’s RnR Virginia Beach Remix Challenge medal.  I completed the Remix Challenge last year, which is the Mile on the Sand on Saturday followed by the half marathon on Sunday.  I don’t currently plan to do the challenge this year, but am very much looking forward to running the half marathon for the third year in a row.

Photo Credit: Rock 'n' Roll Marathon Series

Photo Credit: Rock ‘n’ Roll Marathon Series

4.  One of the other medals that you’ll get in Virginia Beach for running the Remix Challenge is this beautiful sandcastle medal.  I love the design of this year’s half marathon medal, and can’t wait to earn it when I cross the finish line on the beach on September 4th.

Photo Credit: Rock 'n' Roll Marathon Series

Photo Credit: Rock ‘n’ Roll Marathon Series

5.  Yesterday, Rock ‘n’ Roll released this year’s Las Vegas shirt design.  I absolutely love this year’s shirt design.  RnR Vegas is on my bucket list, and one year I’d love to make running this race a reality.

Photo Credit: Rock 'n' Roll Marathon Series

(No, the shirt doesn’t actually blink, but wouldn’t that be cool if it did?!?)

Want to run a Rock ‘n’ Roll race this year?  Remember you can use discount code DANCINGTORUNNING to save $15 on most Rock ‘n’ Roll races this year.

QOTD: Which Rock ‘n’ Roll destination is on your bucket list?

As always, thank you to the DC Trifecta Bloggers (Courtney from Eat Pray Run DC, Mar from Mar on the Run, and Cynthia from You Signed Up For What?!) for hosting the weekly Friday Five Link Up.  Be sure to check out their posts as well!

DC-Trifecta-Friday-Five-linkup

This entry was posted in Races and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to Friday Five – Recent Rock ‘n’ Roll News

  1. Jenny says:

    Thank you so much for the code! I live in Orlando but we are trying and hoping to be able to go to NYC in October with my sis and her husband and if we do we would all do the Brooklyn one. That hoodie is nice! I would be be able to me it to Phillie too though LOL.

  2. I’d love to do RnR LV–but I don’t think it’s in the cards for this year. I’m planning on Chicago tho. Not a destination race, I think it will be fun!

  3. kookyrunner says:

    I’ll be running the Philly races this year and I agree, that medal is awesome! I received the same email about the special edition hoodie for running both Rnr Philly and Brooklyn. I ran RnR Brooklyn last year and it was a complete disaster so I will not be running it again until they make some adjustments.

  4. Since I live about a 4 hour drive from Vegas, I really should do that race at some point. That is, if I ever truly get back into running. I’ve run a little, but I’m back at ballet more now which I’m loving.

  5. Can’t wait to earn my own Rock’n’Roll half medal this fall!

    #FBF: Barcelona, Spain – The City Of Dreams (Part 2): https://candiesandcrunches.com/2016/05/13/fbf-barcelona-spain-the-city-of-dreams-part-2/

  6. Oh I LOVE that Liberty Bell medal!!!!

  7. Karen :0) says:

    I love that medal!! Philly is a race I would love to run one day! I also love the hoodie…what a neat idea!

  8. Lesley says:

    Vegas is on my list too, but probably not this year. Depending on what happens next year, I could be more serious about it for 2017.

  9. Love that Liberty Bell medal, although of course it’s because I am a fellow history nerd 🙂

  10. RnR LV has been on my bucket list since I started running. Unfortunately, this is a no travel year for me, but I’ll get to in one year!

  11. I’m doing Brooklyn! I wish I could do Philly, too, but I’ll be on vacation. Maybe next year!

  12. SuzLyfe says:

    I love the VB medal! i would totally love to do Brooklyn as well.

  13. I love the Vegas tee, and the VA beach half and 5k medals. However, i’m not crazy about that jacket or the remix medal. But hey, something for everyone, right?

  14. I will see you again this year. I will be doing Virginia Beach again. Not sure if I will do the remix or not. I did beach to bell the other yr, both Virginia Beach and Philly and got a cool medal but they didn’t offer anything additional that year. That Hoodia is nice they are offering for doing Philly and Brooklyn.

  15. Elle says:

    I was all ready to sign up for Vegas just to get that blinking shirt! The other medals are very innovative though! Have fun.

  16. Fun! I’m done with RnR races for the year but Vegas is always on my mind!

  17. mkadens1 says:

    That Philly medal is total sweetness! RnR has totally raised the bar on their medals over the last few years. I plan on remixing in Chi and St Louis. Oh and Dublin too!!!

  18. One of these years I am going to have to do the philly half there. Love that medal

  19. I love the hoodie and the Philly medal!

  20. Michelle @ Running with Attitude says:

    I’m loving that Philly medal too! And was super psyched to see the hoodie since I’ll be running both Philly and Brooklyn. I am hoping to make Vegas work this year, but haven’t registered yet.

  21. I was getting ready to comment about how cool it’d be for that Vegas shirt would be awesome then saw the caption…bummer.

  22. Now THESE are awesome race swag! I was really excited when I saw that RnR Las Vegas shirt! Too bad it doesn’t really blink! It’s on my race bucket list too. I’ve heard that it’s such a great race.

  23. carmy says:

    Omg the medals. I want them!

  24. Those medals looks so freakin’ awesome! You Americans really know your bling! 😀 I need to do more races over there :3

  25. EmilyD says:

    I’m running in the RnR Brooklyn half this year! Are you going to be running it this year? I read the other comment about it being disorganized last year :/ hopefully its a better experience this year.

Leave a comment