Friday Five – March 7th – Spring Forward

March 20th, the first official day of Spring, cannot get here soon enough!  This weekend marks the beginning of Daylight Savings, when Sunday morning at 2am we’ll spring forward an hour.  I love Daylight Savings.  While there is a loss of an hour, I always get excited when its lighter outside into later in the evening.

Why is it that I love Spring so much?  What am I most looking forward to about this coming Spring?

1.  Spring in DC means that the Cherry Blossoms will bloom.  Each year, I always look forward to walking around the Tidal Basin and enjoying our country’s beautiful gift from the Japanese.  Earlier this week the National Park Service released their predicted peak bloom dates for the Cherry Blossoms.  I can’t wait to enjoy them!

One of my favorite views of the Cherry Blossoms has always been how they beautifully frame the Jefferson Memorial!

One of my favorite views of the Cherry Blossoms has always been how they beautifully frame the Jefferson Memorial!

2.  This year I’ll be running my first Cherry Blossom Ten Mile Run, which is an annual DC tradition.  Because of its popularity, its historically been a difficult lottery to get into.  Preston ran this race back in 2012, and has told me that this is one of the flattest and fastest courses that he’s run in the DC area.  There’s uncertainty about whether or not I’ll be able to run next weekend’s Rock ‘n’ Roll USA Half Marathon (my next appointment with the neurologist is Monday morning), but if I am able to run next Saturday I won’t be as well trained for it as I’d like to be since I haven’t run since last Wednesday.  The Cherry Blossom 10 Miler will be the next race that I can actually race.

cherry blossom

3.  Spring means that the days will become longer, which will make it much easier to run outside after work.  Regardless of the temperature (and we’ve had a very cold and snowy winter), during the winter its pretty much impossible for me to safely run outside during the week.  It gets too dark too quickly for me to run outside after work in the winter, which results in lots of treadmill running.  I can’t wait to enjoy more early evening runs on some of my favorite local trails.

4.  I can’t wait to enjoy seeing everything in bloom.  There’s just something about seeing the trees and flowers all in bloom that brings about general happiness.

I can't wait to enjoy more scenes like this outside and not just on a table in my apartment

I can’t wait to enjoy more scenes like this outside and not just on a table in my apartment

5.  The arrival of Spring also means that my birthday is near.  I don’t have any plans for a big birthday celebration this year (unless Preston has something up his sleeve that he isn’t telling me about), but I can’t wait to have a low key celebration with a couple of close friends at the end of the month.

QOTD: What about Spring are you most looking forward to?

As always, thanks to the DC Trifecta Bloggers (Courtney from Eat Pray Run DC, Mar from Mar on the Run, and Cynthia from You Signed Up For What?!) for hosting the weekly Friday Five Link Up.  Be sure to check out their posts as well!

DC_linkup

This entry was posted in Motivation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Friday Five – March 7th – Spring Forward

  1. I have never seen the Cherry Blossoms (gasp!). I would love to get down there and check them out. The Cherry Blossom 10 miler is also on my race bucket list 🙂
    Have a great weekend!
    Karen @karenlovestorun

  2. Happy early birthday! I hope you ge the okay to run the rock n roll half next week, even if it is a walk/run/walk! I for one am ready for some warm weather. It’s been well deserved lately!!

  3. Those Cherry Blossoms look gorgeous! I hope you get to run your races girl! And happy early birthday!!!

  4. runsaltrun says:

    I’m with you…so excited to see some flowers sprouting around here! This winter has been the dreariest I can ever remember.

  5. Amanda H says:

    Love the cherry blossoms. I’ll be sad to miss them this year. Congrats on getting in to the 10 miler, heard so many good things about it I’m sure you’ll have an awesome race!

  6. Kristin says:

    My husband ran the Cherry Blossom 10 miler a few years back and really liked it!! He still wears the shirt! 😉 I can’t wait to see all the bunnies and small animals scurrying around!! I love animals!!

  7. I’m so looking forward to being able to run outside without fear of slipping on black ice! Oh yeah and no temps in the teens! 🙂

  8. I visited DC in April several years ago and the cherry blossoms are amazing! They are beautiful! I love it when everything starts blooming. 🙂

  9. Chaitali says:

    It’s been years since I’ve seen the cherry blossoms. I’m definitely going to make it a point to get down there this year and maybe even get to the street fair. I enjoyed it the one year I went but just never had the chance to go back. I went to the kite festival one Spring and it was a lot of fun too!

  10. MS_AimeeC says:

    February and March snow bring Cherry Blossoms…. is that how the saying goes 🙂 Sure hope we have a NICE BLOSSOM SEASON. Best of luck on your training!

  11. Yes to all of those things. Cherry Blossom 10 M was before the blossoms last year so I’m hoping we might get lucky and have a great view at this year’s race. Fingers crossed and sending prayers for your appointment!

  12. Jennifer says:

    Hoping your appointment goes well!! I’ll be running and volunteering for CB10!!

  13. LD says:

    I’m with ya, I can’t wait to be able to run outside after work! I hope you’re feeling better!

  14. I love that you and Mar mentioned the Cherry Blossoms and I didn’t say anything about them – I totally should have! Love that time of year in DC. 🙂

  15. I’m coming up to DC during my spring break with my husband, mother-in-law, and sister-in-law. Our original plan was to see the cherry blossoms, but it looks like we’ll miss their peak bloom! Oh well, my mother-in-law still has never been to DC, so that’ll be fun 🙂

Leave a comment