Loudoun Half Marathon Training Log – Week 8

If you follow me on Instagram, Facebook, and/or Twitter, then you already know that yesterday’s race didn’t go as I had hoped.  I didn’t give up during the race, despite how challenging the race wound up being for me.  Although I was initially disappointed mid-race as I watched my chance of reaching my goals slip away, I still crossed the finish line with a big smile on my face.  I hadn’t given up on a difficult day of running, and for me yesterday, that was a huge accomplishment.

Still smiling despite it being a difficult race for me

Like recent weeks have been, the week leading up to race day was also a very busy one.

Monday, April 16th

After work I made it to the gym from cross and weight training.  I spent 40 minutes on the elliptical followed by 30 minutes of full body weight training.

Tuesday, April 17th

Despite Tuesday being a very long day, it was still a very productive day.  My alarm went off at 4:30 a.m. so that I could get an early start on some grading (end of the quarter grades were due at school last week).

After a full day at school, I still made it a priority to get my run in.  Even though I was tired and would have rather curled up on the couch under a blanket, I still laced up my running shoes and headed out the door for what wound up being a fairly strong run.

I’m so happy that I didn’t give into the temptation to skip my run

Wednesday, April 18th

After a very long Tuesday, I more than earned my mid week rest day.

Thursday, April 19th

Despite desperately wanting to run outside, the wind was blowing at 25-30 mph when I left school, so I headed to the gym instead.  I was a very sweaty mess after my 5 mile run on the treadmill, which I followed up with a 0.75 miles walk.

I was one sweaty mess after Thursday’s treadmill run

Friday, April 20th

Eager to get in another cross and strength training workout, I headed back to the gym after work.  I spent 40 minutes on the elliptical and then did 30 minutes of full body weight training.

Saturday, April 21st

In addition to knowing how important it was to take a rest day the day before my big race, I was also at school before 7:30 a.m. to proctor a practice AP exam for my AP students.  It was a very long and busy morning.  I then spent the afternoon doing errands and chores at home.

Sunday, April 22nd

As I already shared, race day wound up being not what I had hoped for.  A full race recap will be coming soon.

Total Weekly Mileage – 30.66 miles (11.31 miles more than week 7

Total Loudoun Half Mileage – 171.87 miles

QOTD: How do you encourage yourself to keep moving forward during a challenging run or workout?

I’m linking up with Holly from HoHo Runs and Wendy from Taking the Long Way Home for the Weekly Wrap link up.  Be sure to check out their posts as well.

This entry was posted in Loudoun Half Marathon Training, Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Loudoun Half Marathon Training Log – Week 8

  1. kookyrunner says:

    Kudos to you for pushing through the race even though it wasn’t going how you had hoped. It’s so hard to dig deep at times like that.

  2. I’m impressed that you got up so early to get your marking done, worked all day and then worked out! Hard core mama! Sorry to hear your race didn’t go as planned.

  3. Oh no! I will find out more in your race recap. But well done for showing up and getting that race done. Sometimes it doesn’t matter how much training we put it, we can never predict how race day will go and getting to that finish line is always what matters most. PS: You need a Super Mummy Medal this week.

  4. Chaitali says:

    Sounds like you had a really strong week! I saw on instagram that you didn’t have the race you were hoping for but like you said, not giving up when it’s a hard day is a huge accomplishment! I’m glad you were able to cross that finish line with a smile on your face 🙂

  5. Lesley says:

    I think it’s easier to push through a difficult race since it’s what I trained for, and paid to run. Race day can be so random, and I try to enjoy it, whatever the day brings.

  6. Janelle @ Run With No Regrets says:

    I’m sorry your half marathon didn’t go as planned, I look forward to your full recap. You’ve been busy these past few weeks! Great job getting it all done.

  7. I am sorry your race did not go as you hoped. I also hope you know the real accomplishment is all the work and effort you put in each week in your training.

  8. Darlene says:

    Some racing are just challenging and you never know how they’re going to go until you in the middle. You just have to adjust your goals. Be grateful that you can run. Always remember Finishing=winning. So you are a winner no matter what your time was.

  9. Kudos to you for getting your workouts and runs done leading up to your race, and especially for pushing though despite knowing you wouldn’t meet your goals. You still look happy and proud (as you should be) in your pictures!

  10. Wendy says:

    I’m sorry to hear that things didn’t go as you planned. It’s amazing how you can do all your training and it comes down to one day. Glad you finished! I’m looking forward to your recap.

  11. Coco says:

    So sorry to hear the race was a struggle. I think pushing on when you’re already disappointed is so hard – but you can only do your best under whatever conditions you face that day. that’s what motivated me to write my “personal record vs. personal best” post 😉

  12. I’m sorry things didn’t go as planned. You did amazing by not giving up, even when you knew things weren’t going your way. No matter what happens, my end game is always to get to the finish line. The hope is that I do it per my training and reaching my goals. When it works out, it’s the best feeling ever. When it doesn’t, I try to find the positives and the lessons and move on to the next.

  13. Sorry, the race didn’t go as you had hoped. Kudos to you for pushing through – every finish line is a victory!

  14. Mary says:

    I’m impressed with your stamina on Tuesday. Running after getting up at 4:30 and then spending a long day in the classroom takes some real determination.

  15. Race day is always a gamble and a game of chance. I have some races go remarkably well despite the circumstances (like yesterday’s half). Other times, I have everything go wrong…even when I have trained efficiently. Sometimes the weather is a factor, or a phantom injury makes an appearance. Sometimes the legs just will not move. The important thing is to respect every finish line, and celebrate each one you cross. Often times, I think the most difficult races are the most rewarding because of the victory in finishing.

  16. HoHo Runs says:

    I’m sorry your race didn’t go as planned. You never know what race day will bring. But, you rose to the challenge of what became a difficult race. You persevered and crossed another half marathon finish line. You should be very proud of that! Thanks for linking.

  17. I’m sorry your race didn’t go as expected. I didn’t get out to cheer on the runners this year, but my husband was at mile 9 again taking pictures for the race!

Leave a comment