Loudoun Half Marathon Training Log – Week 7

After a productive week of training to kick off April, I was determined to carry that momentum into the second week of the month.  Despite it being a very busy week at school, I was able to follow through on my fitness goals for the week.

Monday, April 9th

Between a busy day at school, an after school chiropractor appointment, and needing to run errands after my appointment, I needed to take a “rest” day from training.  I simply didn’t have enough hours in the day.

Tuesday, April 10th

After school I headed straight to the gym and got in a great workout, which consisted of a 4 mile run on the treadmill followed by 35 minutes of full body weight training.

Feeling great after another strong run

Wednesday, April 11th

Although I had planned to go the gym again after work, after having a very stressful day at school I opted to go home instead in order to be able to spend extra time with little man.  I still exercised, as I completed a 3 mile walk to and from daycare, and then spent additional time outside playing on the playground with little man.  Seeing his big smile on his face as we played together validated my decision to skip the gym that evening.

Thursday, April 12th

Despite the 20+ mph wind, I decided to brave the elements in order to soak in the beautiful 75 degree evening.  It was definitely a tough run, especially trying to counter the wind when it was at its highest that evening.  After my run I walked another 1.5 miles, and even my walk was challenging when it came to battling against the wind.

The wind was absolutely ridiculous last week.

Friday, April 13th

I took my usual day before a long run rest day.

Saturday, April 14th

Saturday’s weather was…..interesting.  By early afternoon it was in the mid-80s.  Summer running has never bothered me, so after little man went down for his afternoon nap I still headed out the door for my run.  What made the run incredibly challenging, and resulted in a lot of extra walk breaks for me, was another day of 20+ mph wind.  This was not the long run that I wanted to have just one week out from race day, but I can’t control the weather.  The most important thing is that I did not give up.

Last week’s long run was one of the most physically challenging runs that I’ve had in awhile. Running in the wind is brutal!

Sunday, April 15th

I finished out the week with 25 minutes of lower body and abdominal strength training.

Total Weekly Mileage – 19.35 miles (4.23 miles less than week 6)

Total Loudoun Half Mileage – 141.21 miles

QOTD: How do you handle running in high wind?  Any tips/suggestions for running in the wind?

I’m linking up with Holly from HoHo Runs and Wendy from Taking the Long Way Home for the Weekly Wrap link up.  Be sure to check out their posts as well.

This entry was posted in Loudoun Half Marathon Training, Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Loudoun Half Marathon Training Log – Week 7

  1. Darlene says:

    80s? What’s that? LOL
    Running in the wind is so tough. I try to start out into the wind because I’ll be more tired at the end of my run and will welcome the wind at my back.

  2. The important thing is that you didn’t forgo your run just because of inclimate weather. Just think it is good training You never know what race day will bring. I think running in the wind can be more challenging than the cold.

  3. Wendy says:

    That wind!!! I think besides the cold we’ve been dealing with, wind has really made running tough. I always plan my routes to run out into the wind so that I have a tailwind at my back. If it’s really strong, I might vary my route to alternate running into the wind with running with it at my back throughout the run. Lots of planning!

  4. Running in the wind is hard. I tend to ball up so to speak – keep my arms closer, head down a bit more and shorter steps. If I can get out of the wind onto another protected trail, that’s what I usually do.

  5. Urgghh! Sorry to hear about your last long run. Good thing is that as you say you didn’t give up. It was not the ideal run but you have put in some great work this training cycle so you will be more than okay for race day! Best of luck x

  6. kookyrunner says:

    I feel like Saturday was just a hard day overall for runners. I had a very crappy run and I know many others that did as well. But hopefully it was just a total fluke!

  7. Chaitali says:

    Great job pushing through on a tough week! I was so excited about the warm weather Friday adn Saturday that I completely forgot about the wind until I got outside and that definitely made things tougher.

  8. Running in the wind is always so tough! Sorry, your last run wasn’t a smooth one, but you didn’t give up!

  9. Sorry you had a tough run on Saturday! Running in the wind is brutal! Good luck at your half!

  10. High winds truly are the worst! I HATE running in the heat, but I feel like the wind wears you down so much faster than the heat. Just a couple of weeks ago I was running into the wind at what easily felt like an 8:00 effort (about as fast I can run, at least for any sort of distance), and when I looked at my watch, I was actually running more like an 11:15. Brutal! The only good way to handle it, in my opinion, is to make sure you run into the wind first so you have it at your back at the end, but even that only kind of makes things tolerable – not to mention it’s not always possible to do that, anyway.

  11. The wind makes running tough, no doubt. A trick I sometimes do is to just keep turning corners so I don’t have the wind in my face for too long a period.

  12. I don’t remember having so much wind in previous years! I had a hard time on my bike yesterday

  13. Janelle @ Run With No Regrets says:

    You did a great job this week, especially with those windy runs! I just do my best to keep moving forward when dealing with the wind – I try not to make it a big deal. Now the heat? I just can’t tolerate that no matter what I do!

  14. It’s been windy here as well …I always try to hit a tree lined path when it’s windy so the trees will somewhat temper the wind. And if it’s cold and windy? Well then I usually postpone the run for another day. Lol

  15. runswithpugs says:

    We have been really struggling with the wind as well. I don’t know what it is! I usually just put on something to cover my ears, put my head down and hope for the best. Sometimes, there is extra walking. 😦

  16. Lesley says:

    I chicken out a lot here when it’s windy. The wind can be really strong, and I know how drained I can be after a run in those conditions. If it’s not too bad, I’ll still try to get outside, but more often than not, I’m on the treadmill.

  17. AJ says:

    I find wind the most challenging weather because I live in a highly wooded area so trees falling is always a major concern. First, I have to find a route that isn’t treed and then there’s no music so I can hear if one is falling – often it becomes an indoor bootcamp workout day for me:(

  18. agsignor says:

    Our wind has been insane! It’s 60+ degrees, but you can hardly be outside for more than a few minutes because it is so uncomfortable. I saw video footage of a port-a-potty blowing down the street in a nearby town. Yikes… No advice on how to cope with running in the wind, other than to opt for an indoor activity. I hope the winds die down soon!

Leave a comment