Loudoun Half Marathon Training Log – Week 6

After a challenging March, I was determined to get April started off on a strong note.  And that’s exactly what I did last week.

Monday, April 2nd

Monday was a long day, and I was short on time for exercising by the time that I got home from school and my weekly chiropractor appointment.  However, I still made an effort to exercise, and did 20 minutes of strength training in the basement that evening.

Tuesday, April 3rd

I completed a strong five mile run on the treadmill, followed by 25 minutes of weight training.  Given that the Loudoun Half Marathon is now only two weeks away, I’m hopeful that my body can keep up with my motivation to finish out this training cycle on a strong note.  Fingers crossed!

Wednesday, April 4th

After work, I drove straight to the gym for the second day in a row, where I spent 30 minutes on the elliptical and did 30 minutes of full body weight training.

Thursday, April 5th

Despite the fact that Spring started almost three weeks ago, it was finally nice enough outside for me to do my first running commute to daycare of the season.  I ran 1.25 miles with an empty stroller to daycare, and then another 1.75 miles after I picked up little man.  After not running with the BOB stroller for several months, I forgot how hard it is to run with.  Add in the fact that little man is bigger than he was back in the fall when I last ran with the stroller, and it made for a very physically challenging run.

He sure loves getting to go for a ride in the stroller!

Friday, April 6th

Knowing that I had my long run the next day, I knew that my body would appreciate a full rest day the day prior.  Even though I didn’t exercise, I kept myself plenty busy after work with lots of errands, including my annual eye exam.

Saturday, April 7th

Although I had 14 miles on my training plan, I was a bit short on time and had to cut my run short at 11.75 miles.  I know that I’ve run plenty of other half marathons, including most recently back in February, so my body knows what it needs to do on race day.  However, it was still disappointing to have to cut my run short, especially since this run was supposed to be my peak mileage long run.

Any miles are definitely better than no miles, which is always something to smile about.

Sunday, April 8th

After running 11.75 miles the day prior, I more than earned a rest day.

Total Weekly Mileage – 23.58 miles (5.22 miles more than week 5)

Total Loudoun Half Mileage – 121.86 miles

QOTD: How do you handle having to cut a run short due to factors out of your control?

I’m linking up with Holly from HoHo Runs and Wendy from Taking the Long Way Home for the Weekly Wrap link up.  Be sure to check out their posts as well.

This entry was posted in Loudoun Half Marathon Training, Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Loudoun Half Marathon Training Log – Week 6

  1. kookyrunner says:

    Great job on a strong start to April!

  2. Lesley says:

    Great job, and 11.75 miles is a good long run. Good luck with your race in a couple weeks!

  3. Way to go! I just try to listen to my body when I have to cut a run short – sometimes we need rest more then we need to increase our mileage.

  4. You already have a strong base, so cutting a long run short probably won’t impact anything for your race 😉

  5. AJ says:

    I so dislike having to cut a run short. I’ll often try to get out for a second run that day to make up the miles.

  6. The weather the past few weeks has made training challenging. Looks like a strong week!

  7. I love seeing pics of little man – he’s getting so big! I bet that stroller run was tough!

  8. Coco says:

    That long run is plenty long for training for a half. I know you want to stick to your plan, but you could have decided that since you couldn’t do 14 you couldn’t do your run at all — so you did great to fit in what you could.

  9. Mary says:

    Sorry you had to change your plan. Wishing you luck with your half marathon in a couple of weeks. Cute picture of you and your son: I hope he enjoys being run home from daycare.

  10. thefauxrunner says:

    Looks like a great training week! Weather has been so iffy and you have done great!

  11. Wendy says:

    It’s been tough running and finding motivation to run long! I think you’re doing great!

  12. chrissytherd says:

    You’re doing a great job! I wish my kiddo liked the jogging stroller longer than he did. Totally agree with you on it being tougher but then it feels so much easier without it, lol. My son only liked it until about a year and then decided he hated it and only would last about a half mile. I miss being able to go for a run whenever with him in the stroller!

  13. agsignor says:

    You are crushing April! And I can’t imagine pushing a toddler while running. You can count that as your strength workout!

  14. Marcia says:

    I wouldn’t worry about 11.75 miles. That’s plenty for a half. Great week for you!

  15. Great week of training for you! Sorry you had to cut your run short. I had to skip a few long runs during marathon training because my kids have things going on most weekends. I still did just fine, but less is more for me.

  16. runswithpugs says:

    I hate cutting runs short, and will usually pick up the balance of the miles later in the day or the following day. I know it’s not ideal, but it works out in my head, and that’s what matters 🙂

    You’re doing great, though, and you’re going to own Louden.

  17. Renée says:

    It still seems like it was a good productive week though! I’m not a fan of cutting short runs but sometimes the effort you’ve made is really enough. I cut short my last two long runs but I was still able to find some good in what I did.. but I do get it! March was disappointing and you just wanted to nail it this week. I think you did though – so well done. (And yes Little Man is getting bigger!!)

  18. Janelle @ Run With No Regrets says:

    I think you had a great week! It can definitely be disappointing to stop a run earlier than anticipated…but like you said, you are well trained and in great shape so it won’t do any harm in the long run!

    I always wondered what it’s like running with a stroller…it sounds tough, lol!

  19. Looks like a great start to the month! I’m always so impressed with moms who can run with a stroller 🙂

  20. Karen :0) says:

    YES! The added weight from a toddler as they grow can be so challenging! Running with a stroller used to be easy when he was only like 15 pounds! Hah! Great job this week!! 🙂

Leave a comment