Loudoun Half Marathon Training Log – Week 3

This past week was one of those incredibly busy ones where I barely sat down.  Between it being the height of the quarter at school, lots going on at home, and life in general, it was very challenging to fit everything in this past week.  I’m starting to get a tad frustrated that I don’t have the time that I would like to be able to work towards meeting my monthly goals, but I know that they’re just a guideline and cannot dictate how my life unfolds.

So what kept me so busy this past week?

Monday, March 12th

My body was screaming for rest after last Sunday’s long run.  After school I had my weekly chiropractor appointment, which certainly helped with the rest that my body was in search of.

Tuesday, March 13th

After work on Tuesday I had a couple of errands to run, and afterwards had just enough time to squeeze in a run on the treadmill at the gym.  I had planned to run 3.5-4 miles, except that I had to cut my run short due to the high amount of perfume that the person on the next treadmill over was wearing.  It was so much perfume that I struggled to breathe.  It was definitely frustrating to have to cut a run short due to circumstances beyond my own control.

It was so frustrating to have to cut my run short due to somebody else’s lack of consideration for others.

Wednesday, March 14th

After being limited on time to work out on Tuesday, I headed back to the gym on Wednesday where I spent 40 minutes on the elliptical followed by 35 minutes of full body weight training.  After having to cut my workout short the day before, it felt so good to get a solid workout in.

Thursday, March 15th

Thursday evening’s run was one of those that I didn’t want to see come to an end.  I felt strong for the duration of my run, and when I arrived back home I was greeted by my husband and little man.  Their hugs and kisses were the perfect way to celebrate a strong run.

There’s no better way to end a run than with a big hug from my little man! 💙

Friday, March 16th

After work errands ate up quite a bite of my time.  And then after dinner I decided that cuddles on the couch with my little man were a high priority after an incredibly busy and stressful week at work.  I’ll never regret spending quality time with him, even if it means spending a bit less time working out.

Saturday, March 17th

I spent a good part of my Saturday working at a local kids’ consignment sale.  I spent my time there working the sales floor, which involved cleaning up the messes that people made (think clothes falling off of hangers onto the floor, tags falling off of clothes, etc.).  There was a huge sorting area in the front of the gym where the sale was held, and many people opted to leave behind on the tables the items that they decided not to purchase instead of putting them back.  This meant that I spent a good chunk of time running those items back onto the sales floor.  All of my running around resulted in walking over 4 miles during the sale.  To say that I was exhausted Saturday night is an understatement!

In the midst of a sea of kids clothes

Sunday, March 18th

We wound up having some pretty crummy weather on Saturday, so I’m glad that I had the consignment sale as an excuse to push my long run to Sunday, especially since the weather was absolutely beautiful during my run.  After last week’s hilly long run, I opted for a flatter route this week, though there were still plenty of rolling hills spread throughout the route, just nowhere near as intense as what I challenged myself to during last week’s run.  I was glad to be able to run a tad faster during my long run, and especially enjoyed the warm sunshine during my eight mile run and just over a mile post run walk.

It was such a beautiful morning for a long run!

Total Weekly Mileage – 20.70 miles (5.39 miles more than week 2)

Total Loudoun Half Mileage – 56.18 miles

QOTD: Do you let yourself get frustrated when your schedule limits your time for working out?

I’m linking up with Holly from HoHo Runs and Wendy from Taking the Long Way Home for the Weekly Wrap link up.  Be sure to check out their posts as well.

This entry was posted in Loudoun Half Marathon Training, Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Loudoun Half Marathon Training Log – Week 3

  1. kookyrunner says:

    Whoa that kids’ consignment sale looks intense – such a big area and tons of clothes! So nice of you to help out with that!

    Great job on all of your workouts this week! I totally understand what you mean about not having enough time in the day to accomplish everything that you want to get done.

  2. Janelle @ Run With No Regrets says:

    Nice job for the week! I definitely get frustrated when I have to rearrange my workout schedule. I try to be as flexible as I can. I would have been so annoyed about that person with their perfume, some people at the gym have no common sense!

  3. Wendy says:

    This week is going to be one of those frustrating weeks for me–I’m at a nurse practitioner conference all week in downtown Chicago and there is going to be very little time for working out. I am walking from the train to the conference and back, so I’ll get a couple of miles in doing that at least!

  4. IT’s great that you tracked your mileage while working the sale…isn’t it crazy how many “free” miles we can take advantage of just by doing other things? 😉

  5. It can be frustrating missing a wok out that’s for sure. I enjoy getting in a workout during my work day when my schedule permits.

  6. Rachel says:

    You’re a saint for working a kids consignment sale. There’s no way I could ever do that. First, I worked retail for too long. But second, I cannot deal with the messes! Maybe because I worked in retail for too long? Lol!

  7. Great week! I will never understand people who wear a lot of cologne or perfume to the gym – seems crazy to me!

  8. What a great week girl!! Even though you were busy, you still rocked those workouts!! I get frustrated with time too, but then I always figure–no matter what–running will always be there when I’m ready for it, so I try not to stress too much about it!

    Have a fabulous week!!

  9. Marcia says:

    Wow that’s a huge sale .You had a busy week!

  10. Sunday was such a perfect running day! The rest of this week ugh not good outlook

  11. runswithpugs says:

    Oh my gosh! I hate it when my workout time gets cut back. You should have seen us today. I skipped the gym yesterday because I wasn’t feeling well from allergies, and then today, we decided to hit the treadmills because of predicted storms. Well, that run was a disaster and I had to cobble something together pretty quickly because I will end up having to work on my planned long run day and need to fit it in somewhere else and it’s enough to drive me crazy! LOL!

    I have to remember that I’m not a professional athlete and it will all work out in the end.

    Great job this week, and I think your priorities are very much on track. 🙂

  12. Chrissy says:

    I’m always surprised at some of the things that happen at the gym – like wearing THAT MUCH perfume. Why, people, why?! It’s also a big pet peeve when people answer calls on the treadmill next to me – and even bigger pet peeve when they put it on speaker so I’m forced to listen to the entire loud convo, lol.

  13. Clarinda says:

    I definitely have a go-with-the-flow mentality to working out, so I don’t get too frustrated with myself when I have to adjust my plans. That said, I’m not really training for anything right now. Sounds like you still got some good runs in (except that treadmill run with the perfume lady… really? c’mon lady!) throughout the week, so don’t be too hard on yourself. Family time is super important as well. 🙂

  14. chicagojog says:

    My son is 16 months old and I’m still trying to workout on a regular basis! Flexibility is key 🙂

  15. Karen :0) says:

    Great job this week, Kathryn! Wow that consignment sale looks massive! I’m in agreement with you – quality time with the little people is always the best answer!

  16. I really love that you plan your workouts but also prioritize family time!
    Great job on your runs this week!
    Looks like a JBF sale! I do those every quarter! Lots of work but worth it in the end.

  17. HoHo Runs says:

    The over application of perfume is one of my pet peeves! It makes my eyes water and my nose burn to be too close. Can people not smell themselves? LOL. I used to shop at consignment sales when my kids were little. They can definitely be a madhouse. You can count that as great cross training. Thanks for linking!

  18. Pingback: Loudoun Half Marathon Training Log – Week 4 | From Dancing to Running

Leave a comment